Cancer · Life · Uncategorized

One Week Post-Op

I had intended on posting every day from the day of surgery but I just have not had ANY energy whatsoever!! So, I think I should give a brief summary of the past week.

I was super late going down for surgery on Thursday afternoon. I didn’t go to theatre until gone 3pm and I was absolutely STARVING!!! I hadn’t eaten since 9pm the night before! I returned from surgery at 7:45pm. The operation went to plan. My surgeon was able to perform a laparoscopic (key hole) procedure, but think they struggled initially as my womb was stuck tightly to the abdominal wall. But once that was sorted they were away and I am now a womb, cervix and two fallopian tubes lighter!!

I can’t really remember the two days following the operation. I was on morphine and just felt completely disorientated. I was in hospital for a total of 5 days, which is crazy considering years ago you’d be in hospital for weeks following this type of surgery. The nursing and medical staff were second to none and I really appreciate everything they did for me. Being a nurse myself it’s not nice being on the receiving end of personal care, I did have to be showered by a health care assistant as I was unable to do this myself which at first I was quite embarrassed about but she was so lovely and made me feel as relaxed as possible. But you know, at 30 years of age having a hysterectomy and having to be washed is still kind of embarrassing?!

I have four wounds on my abdomen from surgery- I had to have the sutures removed yesterday which was pretty uncomfortable as I’m still bruised but the wounds are healing nicely, which is good. Pain wise I’m managing on paracetamol and ibuprofen 3-4 times a day. This meds combined with plenty of rest seems to be doing the trick. I am sore and mobilising is difficult but I’m getting better and doing a bit more every day.

When I came home on Sunday I was so pleased to see my husband and children that I totally over did it. I was trying to be as normal as possible. By Sunday evening I was in a lot of pain and shivering. This lasted into Monday and Tuesday; I thought I was developing an infection but luckily it seems to have passed.

The most frustrating thing for me is the tiredness. I am sleeping so much!!! I know ‘sleeping is healing!’ but I am so surprised at how much I’m needing. Now, I’m not sure if it’s my body trying to catch up on 4 years of having children and sleep deprivation or it is just the fact that I had major surgery a week ago?!?! I am napping once in the day then sleeping solidly through the night, but I must need it? I’m sat in bed now writing this and scheduling a nap soon as I’ve been awake for a total 3 hours!!

Emotionally at the moment I am ok. I’m not great, but I’m ok. The sadness of knowing that you cannot have anymore children is heavy. It’s heavy on my heart. I had only ever planned to have two children and feel so so lucky that I have my son and daughter, but having the choice taken away from you is horrible. I feel it’s unfair and I’m too young.. But the alternative-the cancer coming back is not an option for me. The thought of leaving my husband and my children alone on this Earth is unbearable and I’d opt for a hysterectomy over that any day!!

So to sum things up my recovery is going pretty well so far!? I need to rest, rest, rest. It’s the only way to get better! I may have four small wounds on my stomach but my insides are healing and it’s a big deal!!

Love Caz xx

 

Leave a Reply

