family and parenting

Family

Family-a word that is all consuming. It means everything, it’s the reason why we go above and beyond doing things we wouldn’t normally do. The reason we stick together through thick and thin, good times and bad. Family is key.

Growing up family was ‘weird’ at times and not always happy. I am the eldest of 3, I have a younger brother and sister and they were the most important people in the world to me. I have seen them grow into amazing adults and I am super proud of them, they have become a fantastic Auntie and Uncle to my children.

When my husband and I made the decision to start a family I don’t think we quite knew what we were letting ourselves in for! The one thing I found most overwhelming was the instantaneous unconditional love you feel for your child. Both my children were born screaming (a sign of things the come!!) and even then you bask in this high pitched noise.

Over the past few years my hisband and I have had many obstacles to overcome. Children are the greatest gift but with them comes the toughest challenge. At times it felt like our relationship was falling apart-we didn’t know each other anymore. But we took a step back and made the time for each other, which was definitely lacking. I was diagnosed with cervical cancer in January 2014 when my son was 11 months old (I plan to write a post focusing on my diagnosis, treatment and recovery). This turned my world upside down. Who gets cancer at age 27? I was too young?! But the first thing I thought of was my family. My husband, my son, my sister, my brother- I wasn’t ready to leave them. Luckily we got through it, I lived to tell the tale- not everyone is as lucky as me and my heart goes out to anybody who has been affected by the bitch that is cancer.

Famiy is the at forefront of eveything and every day I count myslef lucky to have a family that I can call my own. It’s not always easy but where would we be without it?

 

Leave a Reply

